Tent Rocks

Last April, returning from Arizona and New Mexico. I noticed, that we are very close to Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument. We have traveled in New Mexico a lot, and it’s my favorite state, but we’ve never visited this monument. Since it has only short, easy trails, we never drove down there just for the Tent Rocks, but since we were already close to it, we decided to check it out.

Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks.

Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks.

Slot canyon within the monument.

Slot canyon within the monument.

The Slot Canyon Trail combined with the Cave Loop Trail ere not a challenge at all. What made it a bit more difficult was the amount of wasps after every curve in the canyon! I’m not bothered by them too much, but I still try to avoid communicating with them.

Inside the canyon.

Inside the canyon.

For some reason Kasha-Katuwe reminds me of pictures I’ve seen of Wheeler Geologic Area in Colorado. The hike sounds challenging, but I would love to backpack there. The areas around Lake City and Creede are one of the only areas in Colorado we haven’t explored yet at all. Next summer…

About Salla

Photography, travel. BIRDS.
This entry was posted in Photography, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Tent Rocks

  1. Tent Rocks looks to be an inspirational location, and I’ll have to learn more about it. NM is also one of my favorite states and I have flyfished and hiked in many of its locations, but this one is new to me. I’m guessing that it’s north of Santa Fe, but I’ll have to check on that. Thanks for stirring my interests!

    Like

  2. plaidcamper says:

    Really interesting formations here – and a beautiful name, too! A hike is never that straightforward if wasps are in the area and taking a liking to you…

    Like

  3. Pingback: Going Home | Mountain State of Mind

Leave a Reply

